Carlsberg Foundation Research Prizes 2016

From the left: Flemming Besenbacher, prize recipient Tobias Holck Colding, H.R.H. Crown Princess Mary, prize recipient Morten Broberg, Ulla Tørnæs, Mogens Høgh Jensen | Photo: Lars Svankjær

In 2016, the Carlsberg Foundation Research Prizes were awarded to two highly acclaimed researchers within the field of social sciences and natural sciences. Morten Broberg, professor at the University of Copenhagen, and Tobias Holck Colding, professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), have received the prize for outstanding research in international development law and mathematics, respectively. 

About Morten Broberg

Professor Morten Broberg receives the award for his acclaimed research on issues associated with the development sector, particularly in relation to development, international trade and legal reforms in developing countries. He occupies an entirely central role in international research and contributes significantly to an expansion, nuance and redefinition of the research field both from a basic scientific and application-oriented perspective.

See portrait and film

About Tobias Holck Colding

Professor Tobias Holck Colding receives the award for ground-breaking research in differential geometry and geometric analysis. Colding’s results on harmonic functions, Ricci curvature, and his more recent work on minimal surfaces have led to the solution of several fundamental conjectures in mathematics. Tobias Holck Colding has also solved a wide range of significant problems in mathematics and has published over fifty articles in leading international journals.

See portrait and film

On September 25 – on the Carlsberg Foundation’s 140 anniversary - HRH Crown Princess Mary and Minister for Higher Education and Science Ulla Tørnæs presented the prizes at a banquet in the New Carlsberg Glyptotek. The banquet was attended by 250 specially invited guests and included, in addition to the award ceremony, speeches by the Carlsberg Foundation’s Chairman Flemming Besenbacher and Minister for Higher Education and Science Ulla Tørnæs. The Copenhagen Royal Chapel Choir provided the entertainment.