Call for proposals for the Carlsberg Foundation Research Prizes 2024



The Carlsberg Foundation awards two research prizes each year to scholars who have made crucial contributions to basic research and attracted broad scientific recognition: one is awarded within the natural sciences and one is awarded within the humanities or social sciences. Each prize is of DKK 2 million, of which DKK 1.5 million is earmarked for research activities and DKK 500,000 is a personal award. 

Proposals for the 2024 prizes are now open until 19 February.

All proposals will be assessed by a Prize Committee consisting of scholars from both Denmark and abroad, which will shortlist two candidates for approval by the Carlsberg Foundation’s Board of Directors. 

The prizes will be awarded on 4 September 2024 at a ceremony at the New Carlsberg Glyptotek.

Assessment criteria

  • Candidates must be active researchers of any nationality employed at a Danish university/research institution or active Danish researchers who are resident abroad.
  • Candidates must have achieved outstanding scientific results over a number of years, so helping develop, transform or challenge a scientific field.
  • Candidates must be a scientific role model for younger researchers.

Proposal criteria

  • All academic employees at post-doctoral level or above employed at a Danish university/research institution may submit a proposal.
  • Previous candidates may be proposed again.
  • Proposers are not permitted to put their own name forward as candidate. 

Submitting proposals

Proposals for the Carlsberg Foundation’s Research Prizes may be submitted by completing the online form.

Please upload with your proposal a single PDF file containing your motivation (max. three A4 pages or 9,000 characters) plus a CV and list of publications (past five years) for your candidate.

All proposals must be submitted in English.

The deadline for proposals is 19 February 2024.

About the Carlsberg Foundation Research Prizes

The Carlsberg Foundation Research Prizes were instituted in 2011 to mark the bicentenary of the birth of Carlsberg’s founder, J.C. Jacobsen.

Members of the Prize Committee

  • Professor Mette Birkedal Bruun, University of Copenhagen (chair)
  • Professor Gøsta Esping-Andersen, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona
  • Professor Anja Groth, University of Copenhagen
  • Professor Peter Landrock, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Klaus Müller-Wille, Universität Zürich